I have something to tell you..

6 02 2013

He was again banished, immediately. I called my parents, recounted events and could hear deep, disappointed and slightly anguished breathing from my dad, in the background lots of “oh shits” from my mom. I couldn’t believe that telling my parents had not brought (shamed) him to his senses. Next port of call was the ‘outing’ to friends. He was incensed that I would do it and probably thought that I wouldn’t as it was ’embarrassing’. I pointed out that this wasn’t my embarrassment, this wasn’t my doing, he was making his own decisions. He was furious that I was going to tell.

After he had been gone for 2 nights, I took the girls away for a couple of nights to spend time with our soul sisters; Michelle and Bella.

“I have something to tell you”. I have never actually started a sentence like that with Michelle, we just start talking about whatever it is…so with the mysterious prelude as I took a deep breath, I watched her face reflect the things that were going through her head about what my news could be. There was happy anticipation….her expression quickly morphed when I followed, “Mort is a deceitful alcoholic and our marriage is just about over.”

She instantly burst into tears. From the outside she had seen a good marriage and a beautiful life, a bit unnerving to know that it was rotting from the inside…..she however was the only one that needed tissues that day, mine were still absorbed by anger.

tissues

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

